CANviaUSB

CANviaUSB is an application I wrote several years ago to help me learning Qt and to introduce myself in the CAN bus communication. The software was first published over a dedicated site, where it has been downloaded over 2000 times. I have decided to open it code since the original source code was laying somewhere on my hard drive almost untouched for the last 6..8 years as it reached a state where it was doing what I needed it for.

CANviaUSB is a simple to use, CAN bus monitor and analysis tool, of CAN bus messages, to help you while developing CAN based applications.

It currently supports the CAN-4-USB-FX/MCP2515 adapter from Zanthic Technologies Inc., the CANUSB adapter from Lawicel and the Tiny-CAN adapter from MHS Elektronik

It was, and it is still very useful for me when I debug embedded systems that are making use of the CAN Bus, and I hope that it will be useful for other as well.

screenshot_full

The sources are available on GitHub

A Windows distribution is available here.

 

6 thoughts on “CANviaUSB

  1. Hi Laurent,

    Thanks for taking the time to make this program. I’m looking forward to using it but unfortunately I cannot get it to start using the windows installer.

    I get a error message saying “unable to load/find plug in : windows
    Available plug-ins are: windows.”

    A quick Google suggested maybe a *.dll is missing from QT in the install?

    Tried libENG.dll to no avail.

    Will keep trying and let you know if I find a solution.

    Like

  2. I have an arduino based device that I use to stream the can traffic via USB. Right now i just make a log file via Putty. If i want to use your program, do I have to format the data in any particular way? or just let it spill in un-touched?
    Thanks, Looking forward to using it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

